Bringing Mid Century Modern to a shelf near You!

Hello Everyone!  I thought I’d start my Blog with  one of my favorite photos from an article published in FDQ magazine last spring. This is Lana Turner’s living room in her hide away apartment.  The article, “One Spectacular Abode”  was about a starlet’s need for private space.  You see, Integrity Toys had just released their first doll in the Hollywood Royalty Series – Lana Turner. Seeing  the doll in person, and how lovely she was, inspired me to give her some glamorous surroundings to live in.

 .Lana's Living Room

I  decided to start a blog so that I can quickly and easily exchange information with those who would like to see what’s going on with “Welcome Home”. It seemed like a more accessible way to share with others .  I will be featuring new items for sale here, as well as my First to Know List and my website. You can see more of my work there by going to: www.maryannroy.com

If you will allow me to catch you up, the past few weeks have kept me quite busy with the release of my Two Sided Back Drop and “Vanity is Thy Name” (a vanity first for Welcome Home).

The back drop is simple to set up and use for diorama purposes or photographing your favorite dolls!  One side has the fireplace wall. It easily comes to life by adding  a few pieces of  furniture and accessoires:

.

When you flip it over, the back drop now shows a paneled wall with  hanging Art Work:

This week saw the debut of the vanity.  I thought that by offering the vanity in  two complimentary colors , people would have more choice and could pick the style that most reflects them.

 As you can see, one of my favorite dolls in the Integrity Line this year are the Monogram dolls! You will most likely see them in alot of upcoming photos of my furniture because they are perfect models!  Oh yes, it’s true, my dolls need to work for a living! None of this standing on a shelf business looking prim and proper. They are costly to obtain, and so they must work for their keep – lol !

I invite you to follow along as I navigate the Blog waters .  I adore designing decor and furnishings !  I hope you will find inspiration in what I do and what I offer.

Please join me in the journey !

Maryann

22 thoughts on “Bringing Mid Century Modern to a shelf near You!

Add yours

  1. Congrats on your blog Maryann!! I see you’re using wordpress too, so if you have any trouble figuring something out just shoot me an email & I can walk you through it!

    Loved the new vanity sets! I was curious what you use for flooring in your shots? I see fabric, sometimes I see wood floors, etc? Please share!

    1. Thanks Shug! I have to tell you , you inspired me! I love the way you are on top of all the doll news and happenings! I have no idea what I’m doing at WordPress, so I may call on you ! Thanks for the offer ! My floors vary. But, I like to use those peel and press tiles,especially the ones that look like parquay or wood. (I got mine at the dollar store!) I will also use textured fabric and felt for rugs. I have even used vinyl to create a cool, modern look. Try it out!

    1. Thanks Pat! I love to share what I’m doing. Hate to see a lot of hard work go to waste, so this seemed like a better way to get the info. out. I intend to use some more previously FDQ published photos for enjoyment. Hope you will pop in once in a while too. 🙂

  2. Oh, Yay! I so love dolly blogs, and I’m totally psyched you started keeping one 🙂 Your photographs are always impeccable, and your new vanity is perfection! It reminds me of one my grandma has. Bravo to all your wonderful work, I can’t wait to see and hear more from you!

    smidge girl

  3. Maryann, so pleased to be able to look at your items as many times as I wish, when I’m helped out of bed for short periods of time! I LOVE every piece of furniture, accessory we’ve ordered/and or won from the generous drawing from FDQ!
    You are one amazing and creative and sharing artists we’ve ever had the privilege of interacting with! How we wish you could come to visit each and every one of your lucky clients. You’ve given soooo much to the doll collectors throughout the world! Now to think you’ll have your own website! How terrific is that!!
    Much good fortune in your days going forward!
    Frank for Caroleanne

  4. Hi Maryann, I always enjoy your modern furnishings so much and always love your photos. What a great blog, thank you for sharing!

  5. Hope we’re now on the right list…so disappointed yesterday when we thought I woudn’t be able to see what my darn eyes w/allow me to see with Frank’s help, because he joins me in Congratulations!!! more hugs, C

  6. Sincere congrats, Maryann! I love the bold colors and design of your header. The Lana Turner living room is absolutely gorgeous! I would kill to have a set like that for my Hollywood glamour gals! Looking forward to reading more….

  7. Hi Maryann,
    Your designs are so fantastic. Some of them bring back memories of my childhood. Congratulation and I sincerely love your work. It brings joy to so many.
    Much appreciation,
    Lisa

  8. Wonderful new entry Ms Maryann!
    I have succumbed to the charms of the Monograms this time around…I want 2 out of the 4 new offerings!
    They are all wonderful tho!

    Thanks for such a fun blog to follow! 🙂

    xo
    v.

  9. Hello Mare,

    Your work is simply spectacular! I enjoy looking at your photographs! You have come such a long way, and I am so very happy for you! By the way, where can I but one of those fabulous dolls? I HAVE TO HAVE ONE!!!

    Take care, Pam 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

