I’ve never considered myself a fan of clone dolls. For the most part, I’d never so much as glance at one. Like most doll collectors, the dolls I choose have to have that something special that calls to me.  A certain look, a sentimental tug , a way of portraying a personality without the gift of speech.

My dolls of choice are fashion dolls, typically 12″ in height.  I do own a few 16″ gals as well as some 21″ vintage Dollikin dolls,  and it’s fair to say they all fall into the categories I listed above. Pretty,  stately and mannequin-like, they  portray the message I am trying to convey when photographing them for articles, or when I dress them for display.

Along comes Persia. Persia Idol to be exact. This is a hand-made resin doll, with distinct features that echo those of the rare and hard to find Mdvanii doll. While I admit that Mdvanii did intrigue me, I couldn’t get past some of her harsh features. But, when I looked at her, I saw more than a typical fashion doll. I saw a piece of ART .  Yes, all this time I treasured my dolls as beautiful mannequins meant to show off clothing or imitate real life in miniature, and some how this doll awakened the idea in me that she was much more. So, I sat with that idea for a while.

When I first discovered Persia, my thought indeed was – another clone.  There are so many clones in the fashion doll world, it hardly seemed unusual to me .  But, then she started popping up on doll boards,  and private collectors photos.  I figured I’d do a little investigating to see what all the hub-bub was about. After all, imitation is the highest form of flattery. I know, I hate this quote too. It really does little to calm the flames of those who work so hard to be unique. But, being an artist myself, I could see possibilities in Persia. She did look like a piece of art, and she did have less harsh looking features.

Well, one thing led to another, (- fill in the blanks here, all you avid doll collectors)  and I found myself with my first Persia idol. She’s quite petite at 10″.  Her shape reminds me of those you might see in Renaissance paintings, you know, the full-figured gals? Oh yes, she has the female attributes too, if you know what I mean, but it’s done in an artistic, non offending way. At least I think so.

I thought you might enjoy me sharing my take on this unusual clone.

Another thing that I like about owning a Persia is that I can add my own personal touch to her to make her more the way I envision.  A touch of eye liner, a color change to the lips, what have you. She’s like an artists’  palette –  here for the taking.   Here’s a look at my small, but artful collection of Persia Idols. Um,…Yeah, I’m up to 3 now. 🙂

Persia Idols by – Darrell Wallace

Pale Blonde Persia wears “Bellissima-Couture” by Hilda Westervelt –

www.bellissima-couture.com

