Les Petites …

Ok – So, I said I wasn’t going to do it. I was NOT going to make furniture smaller than 1:6 any more.

 I had gone down that route a couple of years ago, making 1:12 scale furnishings for a LARC donation and a few living room and bedroom sets for those dollhouse lovers who requested it. I really thought that was the end of it, since I am most comfortable working in 1:6 scale.

 However, I’m sure you are all familiar with the expression – “Never say NEVER“.  And so here I am again, miniature furniture designer, lover of dolls, and collector of many who seems to never tire of anything miniature!

 Several years back, I purchased some itty bitty (7.5″) Hong Kong Lilli dolls. I didn’t know much about them, only that I loved their petite size and haughty look.  Back then, nobody cared much about this tiny clone, passing her over for the authentic smaller, Bild Lilli doll, who did happen to come in both the 12″ and 7.5″ sizes.

As it happened, a good friend of mine, Dal Lowenbein LOVES clone dolls, and is quite knowledgeable in this area.  She helped me identify my dolls and largely contributed to an article I wrote for FDQ on the subject. There are so many incarnations of these little beauties it’s almost insane!  I am trying to convince Dal to write a book on the subject. But I digress…

 As I am always looking for something new and exciting to work on, I decided it was time to once again revisit these tiny treasures. Certainly, they deserved some fabulous Welcome Home furniture !  A place where they could live and show off their swanky good looks. A chance to model like the rest of the dolls in my collection.  Yes, yes, I would start right away on this. So excited to be creating in new way! As if I had a new client. Well, actually, I did – Working in a different scale takes a little adjusting, but  I was so captivated with these tiny divas, that I found myself once again falling down the proverbial 1:12 rabbit hole. 

 Technically, these dolls (who are 7.5″ in height) are actually too big for 1:12 scale. In size relation,1:12 is best suited for 6″ dolls. So, really, I designed furniture specifically for these miniature temptresses who live in a land all their own.

 With a few well chosen pieces, some walls and floors and some chic accessories, (waives magic wand) – these gals now had a place to call their own. I couldn’t WAIT to get them in front of the camera!

 And so, here are the results of my most recent adventure in doll collecting.  A labor of love. A way to enjoy my dolls in another dimension.  A fresh look at an old favorite.

Enjoy!

Blondie –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Black haired Beauty:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Miss Auburn :

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Up swept Brunette:

 

 

 The newest acquisition ( who just arrived this morning – thus my delay in posting! )

 

Joining me in my excited, enthusiastic -” gotta have them” state, is Elizabeth Cole, who generously took on the task of dressing these miniature mannequins in a way only she could do. All I needed to do was ask if she’d be willing to dress my gals . Without hesitation she took to the task!   Her unique, fabulous taste comes through here in flying colors. She gets it!

Thank you Liz for your time and talent ! 

Here’s a little bit about Liz and how to contact her : 

I’m a housewife, live in Seattle, Washington with my husband Darren, two shih tzu’s and a pekingnese.  I went to Burnley School of Art and worked in Retail Advertising (for way longer than I should have).  I started sewing for Barbie in the early 90’s and then for Gene when she was produced.  I LOVE fashion dolls, vintage, new, used….I also collect Bleuette–the original BJD.  We also collect mid-century furniture and household items which we use/live with.  I particularly love Heywood Wakefield sculpture furniture, our latest/best acquisition is a blonde (working) Predicta TV on a Hey-wake TV table.

 Liz is the Owner/Designer of “Retros 

email: lizretros@aol.com

link to Etsy shop: www.lizretros.com

 MORE PICTURES ON FLICKR ! – http://www.flickr.com/photos/welcomehomefurnishings/

*See Fashion Doll Quarterly Magazine ‘s “ROCK” issue /Autumn 2006 for my “Diminutive Diva” article on these little dolls. 

Maryann Roy: –  welcomehome@maryannroy.com 

FDQ magazine : – http://www.fdqmedia.com

 Dal’s Dolls: – http://dalsdolls.blogspot.com/

 ****************************************************************************************

*Welcome Home is a registered-trade mark business. Welcome Home is an independent company and is not affiliated with any other toy company.

All photos, furnishings, set designs, text and ideals are that of the Artist/Owner, Maryann Roy and may not be used or copied without written permission.

8 thoughts on “Les Petites …

Add yours

  1. Nothing short of EXQUISITE!!!
    (if you were here – you would have heard the ‘sighs’ and ‘Ooh’s and Aaah’s’!!!)
    😉
    xox

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

