Creative Decompressing…

After a stretch of work, like the one I just had preparing for my last sale, I usually need to take a little down time in order to re-energize, shift gears and take a break from so much thinking!  I’m sure a lot of you feel like this from time to time. 

One of the ways I like to decompress is to have a little “play time” with some of my own furniture. It’s instant gratification to be able to pull out some pieces and put together a room in no time, and then to photograph it as it stands or add a pretty doll to the scene.

There is a method to my madness though. Each stage from the choosing of the furniture to the click of the camera is all therapeutic for me.   And when I do this, for no reason other than to have fun, there’s no pressure. There’s no dead line, there’s no worries. This little room can look how ever I want it to look. And that makes me smile. As mentioned – Instant gratification!

I need this little bit of down time between projects to remind me that I should enjoy the fruits of my labor once in a while too.  Working all the time is no fun even if you do like your job!

So today, just for a little while, I put away the work and played – and it was fun – and so, I’m sharing. 

I hope you enjoy.

Maryann

 With one of my favorite models – Fashion Editor Silkstone:

Silkstone’s FABULOUS outfit by Elizabeth Cole – Retros : http://www.etsy.com/shop/lizretros

*Welcome Home is a registered business. All ideas, photos and text belong to the artist Maryann Roy and may not be copied or used without written permission.

Email:  welcomehome@maryannroy.com

 

13 thoughts on “Creative Decompressing…

Add yours

  1. Beautiful photos Maryann! I agree that there is nothing like taking a few favorite pieces and escaping into another world. 🙂 You allow us to do that and I’m so thankful! Ps. LOVE the new layout!

  2. These are so fabulous and I bet you had a great day playing with beautiful things. I wish I did that more myself. I think when I have a little more space I will play more, especially if I can display some of your furniture all of the time! Adore FE’s outfit. Love Liz Cole.
    xoxo H

  3. I want to “Play” too! I am loving the scene. Any chance I can buy a lifesize version of that rug and coffee table for my house? you are so talented.

  4. Maryann,
    I have been a lover of your work for the longest time!! You are amazing!! When I saw this room I was stunned!!! So BEAUTIFUL!!! When I was young my Mom had the real life version of the 3 cats hanging on your wall in OUR living room. I never knew what happened to them over the years. Seeing them here made me smile and brought back many nice memories!!! Thank You for bringing us into a perfect little world!! Ron

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

