Green with Envy !

As human nature goes, we all get a little envious now and then. Same goes for the fashion doll collector who prides his or herself on obtaining just the right specimen for their very own possession.

We may not have the opportunity to get a particular doll that we covet, yet, we can take comfort in the fact that our fellow collector friends share in what they have, and for a time, we can be content to live through them until our turn comes to get that “Holy Grail” !

For myself, a collector too, I am lucky that my numerous years of restoration have afforded me the opportunity to see  and/or work on some  very rare dolls, that other wise I may never have seen at all!

A Friends’ recent acquisition of a lovely Long Hair American Girl Barbie brought out a little of that green in Me.  It’s all in good fun really,because I adore my friend and want only the best for her.

As a designer, the sheer idea of being green reminded me of how many times I have heard people comment that they don’t like the color green. Especially when it comes to furnishings or interior design.  This  always surprises me, as I find numerous shades of green to be absolutely divine for use in fabrics and paints!

So, I thought, why not make some lemonade out of these lemons or should I say ” sour grapes” when it comes to the color green ?  🙂 

Today, in my Atelier,  the photo session was tri- fold because I am in need of inspiration and find that having a day of fun helps aid me in deciding what to offer next in my Welcome Home world. I also felt it was the perfect opportunity to squash the idea that green is no good.  AND, I got to play with a very lovely doll in the process !

For this photo session, which is purely for entertainment, I used what props and furniture I have on hand as well as my friends’  Long Hair American Girl Barbie who just happened to be wearing a GREEN Barbie sheath !

I hope you enjoy !

Maryann

 

The Room: “Envy”

 

envy11envy13envy14

“The Model” – LHAMG – on loan !

envy1

 

 

envy3,jpg

 

envy4

 envy6

envy8

envy15

envy16

 

Email :  welcomehome@maryannroy.com

 

* Welcome Home is a registered trademark business. All ideas, designs, furnishings, and writings are that of the artist Maryann Roy and may not be copied for any reason without written permission.  *

13 thoughts on “Green with Envy !

Add yours

  1. Love it – I think this is my favorite design that you’ve done – turquoise & green ( in most of its shades) are personal favorites of mine.

    Have a great day!

    Jane (janeatlanta)

  2. I am green wiht envy over here for sure. I love everything, but that doll on loan and her amazing vintage portrait bow sheath is something I covet.
    I posted your link on my blog, hope you don`t mind, but there might be a few that miss seeing your amazing work.
    hugs
    B

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

