I am often asked : “Where do you get your inspiration from”? 

Seems like a simple enough question, but the answer is not so simple.  There are many, many things that inspire me to be creative! Color, fabric, classic movies, vintage books, style magazines, beads, trinkets, mid-century furniture, wallpaper, sculptures, paintings, patterns, flora, polished stones, ephemera  – I mean, I could on and on!  For Me, it’s just seeing things in a different light.

One of the joys of my job is discovering a jumping off point for my next design, whether it be  multiple pieces for an upcoming sale or, for a One Of A Kind suite, meant for someone special.

Within My many research books and reference folders, are some illustrated ads for mid-century living that I’ve come across over the years.  More inspiration, of course! These ads were beautifully executed by some advertising artists long before the computer age.  Art in and by themselves! I loved the thought of these never actually being rooms (because they are illustrations) and re-creating them in 3D!

You may indeed recognize My designs and suites, as these are all from the past and have been sold, but what you may not know is – these rooms were all inspired by illustrated Art! 

Here is a little tribute to all the past advertising artists and designers – Your work still inspires!

Maryann

 

Illustration:

lilacliving

Executed in 1:6

lilacliv

 

Illustration:

page08

Executed in 1:6

page81

 

Illustration:

studio1

Executed in 1:6

studio2

 

I am currently working on a new offering.  Stay tuned!  

Follow Me on Instagram too: 

https://www.instagram.com/maryann_roy/

For inquiries, please email Me at:  welcomehome@maryannroy.com    or  maryann@ntplx.net

 

********************************************************************

Welcome Home  – “Add a little LIFE to your display”

* Welcome Home is a registered/trademark business. All content including designs, photos and text are the property of the Artist, Maryann Roy, and may not be copied or used without written permission.

